Янв 122015
 
 Январь 12, 2015  Add comments


Докт. Ованнес Агмаранян
«Нор Айастан» назависимая трехдневная газета
Пятница, 9-е января, 2015 г. но. 1, 22-й год


 

Диктор «Channel 5» сделал примечательную, но в тоже самое время дискредитирующее выражение, когда 1-го января, во время Парада Роз в Пасадене, назвал армянский народ «nomadic».

Мне интересно знать кто этот знаток инстории, «автор» этого безответственного и невежественного выражения, а также обстоятельства при которых это было высказано. Но мне больше интересует, конечно, само выражение.

Прилагательное «nomadic» происходит от существительного «nomad», который на армянском означает թափառական (скиталец), վաչկատու (кочевник).

Это слово в иностранных словарях и энциклопедиях толкуется следующим образом: nomad/nomadic – это народ, который постоянно перемещается из одного места в другое. И это выражение, в сравнении со словом «цивилизованный», получает негативный характер. Это слово на арабском означает «беду» (بدو), откуда и негативное выражение «бедуин».

Если армянский народ в начальный период формирования, мог быть скитающимся, то в таком случае все народы, до своего окончательного формирования, были скитающимися. В первые годы формирования человечества, когда в Библии Кайен был назван «скитальцем» (Бытие, гл. 4. 12), уж тем более древние народы, такие как шумеры, аккадцы, армяне, вавилонцы, в период своего зачаточного состояния, могут быть названы скитающимися. Вопрос, однако, в следующем: остались ли они скитальцами?

Древние римляне, в качестве кочевников, из севера, из скандинавских территорий, двинулись на юг, к Риму, и, поселившись там, стали народом, создавшим величайшую цивилизацию и правившим миром. И сегодня, после того, как «Pax Romana» (Римский мир) назван в их честь, как можно сказать, что римляне были nomad-ами (кочевниками)?

Как можно назвать имеющий 10.000-летнюю историю и выживший до наших дней народ кочевниками. Как можно считать армян кочевниками, когда на протяжении веков на собственных дедовских землях у них были династии – Айкский-Арменакский, Ервандуни (Ервандиды), Арташесян (Арташесиды), Аршакуни (Аршакиды), Багратуни (Багратиды), у которых були связи с Вавилоном, Персией, Римом, Византией и арабскими королевствами, а в Киликии были три королевства – Рубиняны (Ребениды), Хетумяны (Хетумиды) и Лузиньяны. Как назвать армян кочевниками, когда у них были насыщенные культурой и гением столицы – Эребуни, Армавир, Ервандашат, Тигранакерт, Двин, Арташат, Вагаршапат, Карс и несравненный Ани с тысячу и одной церковью. Думаю, что диктору 1001 церковь показалась 1001 палаткой, а нас он посчитал проживающими в палатках скитальцами, цыганами, кочевниками и «nomad»-ами.

Некоторые скажут: «На протяжении последних ста лет, армяне были скитальцами». Никогда! Да, сто лет тому назад нас выселили (displaced), но кочевниками мы не были! Скиталец перемещается по своей воле, а выселенного вынуждают перемещаться насильственным путем. Житель Мараша не покидал Киликию, чтобы добывать пищу в пустынях Сирии; не покинул бы Эрзрум, окруженный райскими реками, и армянин, чтобы скитатся по постуням Дер Зора и Шаддада ради любви к обладанию верблюдами, палатками и колодцами.

Было бы лучше, если бы диктор «Channel 5» прочитал из имеющихся под рукой сведений, вместо того, чтобы передавать неверную информацию.

Я сказал то, что посчитал нужным. Остается узнать кто является автором (авторами) этого «подвига».

Узнаем в ближайшем будущем.

Jan 122015
 
 January 12, 2015  Add comments

By Doctor Hovhannes Ahramanian
Friday, January 9, 2015 Vol. XXII, Issue 1
Nor Hayastan (New Armenia) Independent Tri-Daily Newspaper


The Channel 5 spokesperson came out with an attention-getting, but also with a vilifying expression, when on January One, during the Pasadena Rose Float Parade, he characterized the Armenian people as Nomadic.

I am interested in the history-savvy “author” of this irresponsible and ignorant statement and the circumstances of it being voiced. However, the statement itself is, of course, more interesting to me.

The adjective nomadic comes from the word Nomad, which in Armenian signifies թափառական (wanderer) or վաչկատու (nomad).

This word is explained in Armenian and other-language dictionaries and encyclopedias in the following manner: “Nomad-Nomadic –  a people constantly subject to moving from place to place in need of food, plentiful water and shelter,.” And in comparison with the word civilized,  this definition receives a negative connotation. In Arabic, this word is bedou (بدو), from which comes the negative term bedevi (bedouin).

If the Armenian people during the first period of their formation may have been wanderers, in that case, all the peoples, until their ultimate formation, have had a nomadic condition. During the first years of humankind’s formation, when in the Bible the fratricidal Cain was called nomadic (Genesis IV.12), then the ancient peoples – Sumerians, Akkadians, the Armenian, Babylon, in their embryonic stage – would have been more likely called nomadic. The question, however, is as follows -­ did they remain wanderers?

The ancient Romans heading south from the north, from Scandinavian areas, as wanderers, came to Rome and, having established a population there, gave birth to the greatest civilization of humankind, and for centuries they became a people ruling the world. And today, when the illustrious PAX ROMANA (Roman Peace) is named after them, to come and say that the Romans were Nomads (Wanderers)?

How is it possible to call the Armenian people, having a 10,000-year history and having survived to this day, Nomad? How can one consider the Armenians a nomadic people, when for centuries, they have lived on their ancestral and their own lands and had Haikian-Armenakian, Yervanduni (Orontid), Artashesian (Artaxid), Arshakuni (Arsacid) and Bagratuni (Bagratid) dynastic kingdoms, which have had connections with Babylon, Persia, Rome, Byzantium and Arab kingdoms; and in Cilicia, three kingdoms, the Rubinian (Rubenids), Hethumian (Hethumids), and the Lousignans? How can one refer to the Armenian people as nomadic, when they have had capital cities enriched with culture and genius, such as Erebuni, Armavir, Yervandashat, Tigranakert, Dvin, Artashat, Vagharshapat, Kars, and  the incomparable Ani, with its thousand and one churches. I think that the spokesperson probably thought that the 1001 churches were 1001 tents, and considered us tent-dwelling, gypsy, wandering nomads.

Some will say: “During the last hundred years, the Armenians have been wanderers.” Not at all! Yes, one hundred years ago we became displaced, but not wanderers! Wandering is an undertaking with acceptability; displacement is violent and forced. The native of Marasht did not leave behind his superb Cilicia in order to seek food in the deserts of Syria; nor would the Armenian desert Erzroum, surrounded by idyllic rivers, to wander in the deserts of Deir Zor and Shaddadeh, for the love of having camels, tents, and wells.

It would have been better if the Channel 5 spokesperson, had read the script that was in his hands, rather than reported incorrect information .

I have said what I had to say. It remains to find out who is or are the authors of this “misinformation”.

We will know in the near future.

Translated from the Armenian by Dr. Sylva Natalie Manoogian, PhD
Los Angeles, California
11 January 2015